My blogging debut: GF Espresso Chocolate Chip Angel Food Cake

Cooking and baking are two of my passions, and everything I know I’ve learned from watching my mom or experimenting on my own. I hate overly complicated recipes with too many ingredients- the simpler, the better. And photography is not one of my strong suits, so please bear with me as I get the hang of this 🙂

My inaugural recipe is a gluten free Espresso Chocolate Chip Angel Food Cake. I love angel food cakes because they are so light and airy- the exact opposite of most gluten free baked goods. This is one my mom used to make all the time, and I’m bringing it back into the rotation. The espresso flavor is very subtle, but really enhances the chocolate chips.

Don’t be intimidated- angel food cakes are actually very simple. Just be sure your bowl and beaters are very clean and completely grease free- any traces of fat can destroy an egg white’s ability to hold air. To maximize volume, it also helps to have your egg whites are room temperature. To make this gluten free, I use Better Batter All Purpose Gluten Free Flour blend- it is PHENOMENAL!

Espresso Chocolate Chip Angel Food Cake

2 teaspoons instant coffee granules, ground in a food processor

7/8 cup of all purpose flour (I use Better Batter gluten free flour)

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 cup egg whites (about 12 large egg whites)

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/3 teaspoon lemon juice

1/2 cup chocolate chips, chopped

Preheat oven to 350. Sift together coffee granules, flour and salt. Set aside.

Beat room temperature egg whites on medium speed until frothy. Add cream of tartar. Increase to high speed and slowly add sugar. Continue whipping until whites are stiff, but still shiny, about 3 minutes.

Reduce to low speed, adding vanilla extract and lemon juice. Add the flour mixture until just incorporated. Once incorporated, use a spatula to gently fold in the chocolate chips. Make sure they are evenly distributed. Do not overmix.

Pour the batter into an ungreased bundt pan, and bake for 35-40 minutes, until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Enjoy!

A slice of espresso chocolate chip angel food cake, drizzled with some chocolate syrup for good measure.

I need some inspiration for my next post- what are some of your favorite desserts?

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. glutenfree vegetarian meal ideas says:

    Looks amazing. Tfs 👍🏾

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori Chiusano says:

    Love it😄 So easy and delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

