Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream and GF Butterscotch Blondies

I love ice cream. This summer, I decided to take my dessert game to the next level and start making my own ice cream. Again, this is one of those things that sounds much more intimidating and difficult than it actually is. I started with a basic vanilla, and have modified my recipe to create some pretty amazing flavors,  including coffee, pumpkin pie and hazelnut nutella.

Regardless of the flavor, ice cream makes the perfect finishing touch to any dessert. I always have some in the freezer for snacking or unexpected company. Today, I used my french vanilla ice cream to compliment a batch of butterscotch blondies (gluten free, of course), topped with fudge and caramel.

blondies

I got my basic vanilla ice cream base recipe from my Aunt Joanne, who also recommended a no-frills ice cream maker that really gets the job done. Use the recipe below and follow the manufacturer’s instructions on your ice cream machine- you’ll be enjoying your next dessert a la mode in no time!

blondiesicecream

Aunt Jo’s Vanilla Ice Cream

2 cups whipping/heavy cream

2 cups half and half

1 cup sugar

1.5 Tablespoons vanilla extract

 

Leave a Reply

