Snow Day and Lots of Chocolate

Ever since I was little, snow days have been for baking. When school was cancelled, my mom, sister and I would hang out in our comfy clothes and always make something sweet. So when the snowflakes started to fall yesterday, I pulled out my recipe book and got to work.

I have always preferred desserts made with chocolate. Apple crisp is nice, but I’ll take a gooey brownie or an ice cream sundae any day of the week. I was craving nutella, and wanted to try a new recipe, so I combined two different recipes to create Chocolate Hazelnut Nutella Sandwich Cookies with Mocha Cream Filling. As always, I used gluten free Better Batter in place of regular flour, but no other substitutions were necessary.

IMG_1435 - Copy
Chocolate Hazelnut Nutella cookies baking in the oven.

I baked the cookies first, allowed them to cool, and then prepared the Mocha Cream Filling.

IMG_1436
Cookies on the cooling rack

I matched up cookies that were similar size (using a cookie scoop would have made them all the same, but that’s not how I roll) and spread on the filling. The result was a rich, chocolately, melt-in-your-mouth cookie with just a hint of crunch from the hazelnuts. This combination is definitely a keeper!

IMG_1438 - Copy
The final product- YUM!

These were really easy to make, and didn’t take a ton of time, but look really impressive. I am including the recipes below, with my modifications:

Chocolate Hazelnut Nutella Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour (Better Batter Gluten Free Flour Blend)

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, room temperature

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 cup chocolate hazelnut spread

1/2 cup chopped toasted hazelnuts

1 cup chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.
  2. Beat butter, brown sugar and white sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add eggs one at a time until incorporated. Add vanilla and chocolate hazelnut spread.
  3. Add flour mixture to butter mixture and stir until combined. Fold in toasted hazelnuts and chocolate chips.
  4. Drop dough onto a prepared cookie sheet and bake until edges look dry, roughly 10 minutes. Allow to cool before filling.

Mocha Cream Filling

1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

1/3 cup butter, softened

2 tablespoons brewed coffee

In a small bowl, beat the butter until creamy, gradually add the sugar and cocoa powder until smooth. Add the coffee and beat until incorporated.

In addition to these decadent delights, I had four overripe bananas on my counter that needed to go. Taking my chocolate fix in a bit healthier direction, I made some quick baked bananas.

Cut the banana down the middle (keeping it in the peel). Add any nut butter of your choice (this time I used natural chunky peanut butter) and some chocolate chips (classic combo). I’ve also added mini marshmallows or fluff, but decided against it this time around.

IMG_1431

IMG_1430 - Copy

Then, I wrapped each banana in foil and put them in a 350 oven for about 10-15 minutes.

IMG_1432 - Copy

The bananas get soft and gooey, the chocolate and peanut butter melt together and it is absolutely delicious! Sometimes, I mix all of the baked bananas and toppings together in a container and put it in the freezer to create a creamy, protein-packed frozen treat.

IMG_1434
Gooey baked banana, fresh out of the oven and oozing with peanut butter.

Even though we didn’t get a ton of snow by Northeast standards (6 inches is no showstopper), I made the most of my snow day. Who knows what I’ll come up with next time I’m stuck inside!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Annie says:

    Amazing recipes! I love the banana idea, it’s the first time I stumbled upon something like this. I’ll make sure to try it out. However as a chocolate lover myself I have to point you towards my blog post (Lava cakes) https://anniesperception.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/molten-lava-cake-in-a-muffin-tray/
    Happy baking 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much- glad you enjoyed it! I will definitely check out those lava cakes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

