Super Bowl Sunday Funday

My Sundays are usually spent cooking, baking and food prepping for the week and today was no exception. Being Super Bowl Sunday, it wasn’t my typical menu, but delicious (and gluten free) nonetheless.

I started by making a Roasted Squash and Cauliflower Salad with Kale and Lentils. It is smothered in a delicious Dijon vinaigrette and is perfect for lunch. I figured I’d get my veggies in before the big game.

IMG_1526

We were having a few friends over for the game, and I can never host without making something sweet πŸ™‚ I decided to make Black Bottom Cupcakes, a recipe my mom used to make when I was a kid and my sister and I absolutely loved. They are rich chocolate cupcakes with chocolate chip cheesecake filling on top. I made them gluten free using my usual Better Batter Flour! I didn’t have my mom’s original recipe on hand, so I used one from Allrecipes and they came out great!

IMG_1515
Just about ready!
IMG_1518
The finished product on the cooling rack!

Finally, just before game time, I had special requests for Buffalo Chicken Tenders and Cheesy Fries, classic bar food, which is difficult to find gluten free. I used Alexia frozen fries, and Golden Platter Gluten Free Chicken Tenders, and made the cheese sauce from scratch on the stove, which was really easy:

Gluten Free Nacho Cheese Sauce

2 Tbs. butter

2 Tbs. GF Flour

1 cup milk

Salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste

Pinch of nutmeg

1 cup shredded cheddar

Melt butter in a saucepan on the stove. Add flour, stir until toasted, about one minute. Add milk and seasoning, stir until the sauce thickens 2-3 minutes. Add pinch of nutmeg (it really enhances the cheese flavor). Remove from heat, add cheese and stir. Use additional milk to thin as necessary and serve!

IMG_1523
Gluten Free Buffalo Chicken Tenders
IMG_1524
Gluten Free Cheesy Fries

It’s almost half time, and the spread was well received. I could care less about football- I’m just in it for the snacks πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

