Black Beans and Ladies Night

I don’t know if it’s the extreme cold or the fact that Sunday was Valentine’s Day, but my sweet tooth has been rather demanding lately. The past few days have been filled with sweet treats- for sharing (or not).

Anyone who knows me knows about my popcorn obsession. When I’m craving something salty, it’s my go to snack. When I want something salty AND sweet, I have a highly addictive recipe for “Party Popcorn” that combines white chocolate chips and vanilla pudding mix, among other ingredients. Add some gluten free pretzels, and you’ll be the life of the party.

popcorn
Irresistible Party Popcorn

I also wanted to make something special for Phillip for Valentine’s Day. He absolutely loves cherries, so I decided to give chocolate covered cherries a try. They also happen o be my mom’s favorite candy (my sister and I used to buy her a box for Valentine’s Day growing up, before she developed so many food allergies), so I made them gluten and dairy free.

The recipe was fairly simple: coat the cherries in a paste made with confectioner’s sugar, a small bit of butter and cherry juice, chill in the fridge until firm and then dip in dark chocolate.

dippedcherries
Phase one of the cherry dipping.
choccoveredcherries
The finished product, dipped in dark chocolate.

They came out great, and were even better after spending the night in the fridge!

Tonight is girls night at my house (just me and the dogs, haha):

girls
My girl crew, Maya and Zoey.

which makes it only right to continue my chocolate extravaganza (sorry pups, can’t share) and my love of baking with beans. After much deliberation (these are serious decisions here!) I made a Flourless Chocolate Chip Brownie Pie courtesy of Chocolate Covered Katie. I altered the recipe just a bit (see my modified version below) to cut back on the sugar and oil. Katie recommends letting it chill overnight before cutting, but I had to at least taste it! The pie was very gooey- I’m looking forward to a dense and fudgy result tomorrow.

Blackbeanbaked
Flourless Chocolate Chip Brownie Pie- YUM!

Flourless Chocolate Chip Brownie Pie

  • 2 15-oz cans black beans (or 3 cups cooked)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbsp milk of choice
  • 3 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup chocolate chips, save some for topping

Grease a 9-inch pan, set aside, and preheat oven to 350 F. Drain and rinse the beans very well. In a food processor, process all ingredients except half of the chocolate chips for a few minutes, scraping down the sides occasionally, until completely smooth.  Stop the processor, stir in the remaining chocolate chips, and transfer the batter to the prepared pan. Smooth down. If desired, press in some extra chocolate chips on the top of the pie. Bake 20 minutes for a gooey version—it will firm up considerably overnight in the fridge. Store leftovers in the fridge for 3-4 days (if it lasts that long!)

Leave a Reply

