From Spaghetti Squash and Tofu to “Slutty” Brownies: Just Another Sunday

As I write this, I must admit, I have a stomach ache. Let this serve as a warning that these recipes are as delicious as they look, and should you make them at home, you may not be able to stop eating them.

Sundays are usually spent prepping lunches for the week (I try to make vegetarian lunches) and baking something delicious. Today was no exception, and I was able to do both. I have been craving the salty taste and unique texture of halloumi cheese, a sheep’s milk cheese from Cyprus that tastes like a cross between feta and mozzarella. I decided to incorporate it into my lunches for the week, and landed on a pesto spaghetti squash with tofu.

IMG_1582
Pesto spaghetti squash with halloumi cheese and tofu.

I whipped up a quick pesto using fresh basil, parsley, spinach, walnuts, garlic, lemon juice and a dash of Parmesan (not too much because halloumi is SUPER salty). I mixed it with my cooked spaghetti squash and some diced firm tofu, which I pressed and drained for half an hour prior to baking. Then, I diced the halloumi, mixed it all together, and I was good to go!

With the green stuff out of the way, I moved on to the sweets. I knew I wanted to make some sort of stuffed brownie, and was deciding between Peanut Butter Stuffed Brownies and “Slutty” Brownies from What’s Gaby Cooking. I showed Phillip both recipes, and even though we weren’t fans of the name (maybe we’ll rebrand them “Sloppy” Brownies), we chose these beauties with layers of cookie dough and gluten free “oreos”, topped with a gooey brownie. We were not disappointed. Here’s how I constructed these monsters:

IMG_1583
First, prepare and spread the cookie layer.
IMG_1584
Then, add the gluten free “oreos” (I used Glutino Chocolate Sandwich Cookies).

 

IMG_1587
Finally, top with the brownie layer and bake for 30 minutes. Cut at your own risk.
IMG_1591
Insane layers. The goo is real (don’t worry Cara, I’m sending some your way).

Full belly aside, another successful Sunday for the recipe books! Replicate at your own risk!

Leave a Reply

